Agents, editors, comps, and comps

It’s been crazy-busy lately! There’s so much to tell you guys, so I’d better do it quickly, before I forget it all.

Firstly, editors (or, more accurately, “editor”)
Eleanor is off with the editor for a copyedit/assessment of the manuscript. I am both excited and nervous as all Hell. I should get Eleanor back mid September, which is fantastic because I want to get my novel out and about asap. Which brings me to…

Agents
I’ve already started making up a list of agents I’m considering. I’m looking for agents who are members of the Australian Literary Agents’ Association (ALAA). The ALAA is the best place to start the search for reputable agents. Thanks, Natasha Lester!

Comparable works to Eleanor
I’m still going through my comps list. I recently read the Penny Dreadful comic, which was, really, a gorgeous read. The artwork is amazing. If you like the television series, I recommend you check out the comics. I likely won’t be able to put Penny Dreadful down as a comp. Though the genre is very similar, I’m not sure the format is appropriate for comparison. Perhaps when/if I get in contact with agents or publishers and they want to know more, maybe I could bring it up. I still think it is relevant. I mean, the “neo-Victorian” genre (including steampunk) is very popular across all media, so it wouldn’t totally be amiss to regard Penny Dreadful as comparative in some respects.

I will do a proper review at a later time, methinks.

I’m also just finishing up reading The Asylum, by John Harwood. I have to say that, seriously, I feel like I’ve struck gold with the novels I’ve picked. The Asylum is, so far, just another wonderfully beautiful read. If you liked Wildthorn, by Jane Eagland, then you will absolutely love this book. Again, I will write up a more decent review at another time. Right now, this is just an update of what’s going on.

So, what’s next to read?
One of these. I haven’t decided yet. I’m also still to find a copy of Emily’s Ghost, by Denise Giardina.

Blue Fringe Arts
The 25th anniversary of Blue Fringe Arts is coming up! I’m really excited… and nervous. I will be submitting two pieces this year; a poem and a short story. After the ceremony, I’ll be sure to post up entries, so don’t fret, guys. You’ll get to read them.

Book Pipeline competition
I’ve just discovered the Book Pipeline competition, which looks to turn works such as novels into TV or film adaptations! I plan to submit Eleanor (once it’s edited). I don’t know what my chances would be, but I’m honestly quite excited about the fact that every entrant will receive feedback on their work! So, as a realist (on occasion), I’m not going to get my hopes up high, but I’m stoked that I’ll get feedback regardless! Yay!

I actually have another work in progress (WIP) — a secret one — that would be more suited for this particular competition, but as it’s still only a WIP, I’ll give Eleanor a chance at entering instead.

Anyway… although I don’t think that’s everything, I might have to leave it there. Sorry, guys! Don’t despair, I’ll be back next week with more of my exciting, sexy adventures.

See you then!

Leave a Reply

