Cruisin’ with the quokkas

Apologies, as I meant to give you all my quokka update last week, and I know you have been waiting with bated breath.

Okay, so here goes…

Cadence Dictionary defines the quokka (kwɒkə) as: An effing awesome little creature who has the power to make anyone gush and say, “Er mah gahd! Look at the wittle smiling babies!” Their power is often confused with Satanism. Inhabitants of Rottnest Island are so enthralled by the quokka’s charm, they are incapable of leaving.

17-02-17-rottnest-72

It had been years since I last visited Rottnest Island, and I wasn’t really certain what to expect this time around. On my last visit, I unfortunately didn’t encounter many of the smiley babies. This time…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I would have had more photos, if my damn camera didn’t die on me.

But these guys can be hard to spot during the day. I cycled right past a number of them and didn’t even realise. As they are nocturnal, they enjoy their sleep during the day, so don’t be upset if you don’t see them right away.

17-02-17-rottnest-61
I actually thought these guys were fake! They were right behind me and I didn’t even notice. They didn’t move at all, and I was convinced they were stuffed! Just as I was getting upset about how cruel it was to have stuffed quokkas sitting there, the one on the right twitched their ear! (The one on the left is showing off the quokka sleeping method).

Hang out for a bit longer as I did, and they’ll come looking for you, begging for food. As more and more people began to leave the island towards the end of the day, the quokkas ventured out on roads for their play time. And it was just when the babies started coming out en masse that my camera died!

As I wandered around the shop area, I discovered what plant the quokkas loved to eat, and once I did… they started swarming me. I haven’t been able to find the name of the plant, all I know is it seems to be some sort of cruel twist of fate that the plant they love the most is the one out of their reach. Quokkas wait until the leaves fall, or until a giddy tourist comes by and starts tearing off leaves to please their quokka overlords.

It was amazing watching them devour their food. I collected a heap of the leaves (which seemed to have some drug-like effect) and gave some out whenever I saw a quokka. There was one particularly fussy quokka though. He/She demanded I feed them the stems only. They didn’t want the leaves, JUST the stems! I was happy to oblige, but they never seemed fully sated, even with my efforts, and I certainly wanted to please! You can’t say no to them, and he/she just kept waiting until I pulled more down. One after the other they were tossed aside, after ONE bite.

I envy those who work on the island, it is such an amazing place, with so many little critter quokkas. I could talk about my adventures cycling throughout the island, but who wants to hear about that when there are quokkas?

All right, I’ll just post a few pictures instead.

Hopefully it won’t be too long until I return to Rottnest Island. It is a wonderful place, and there is still so much to do there that I wasn’t able to during this last trip. If you ever get the chance to go, GO!

www.rottnestisland.com

 

Leave a Reply

