Happy New Year!

I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year (sorry it’s late). It’s been a difficult year in more ways than one, and I really hope that 2017 will bring us some good… because in all honesty, 2016 has been shit!

I am however loath to admit that 2016 has been good to me in terms of my writing. I am sorry! Please put the pitchforks down!

National Novel Writing Month was probably one of the best things I’ve ever done, and it really pushed me to my limits — limits that I didn’t know I had. It’s made me realise I am capable of more, and I suppose my New Year’s resolution is to manage my time better and try to implement a writing schedule (with similar goals and such) as I had during NaNoWriMo. This will, I hope, ensure I write more or as much as I’d like.
I will also enter NaNoWriMo again in 2017. I already have a couple of novel ideas in mind!

Eleanor is almost complete. I will continue working on it throughout the holidays, and it should be up for publication early next year. And then begins that gruelling process! Editing, agenting, publishing… all worse than the writing process itself. Oh yes, indeed! I will prevail however, fingers crossed. I know. I know. Just let me be positive for a while, okay? Thanks!

What’s to come in 2017?
Well, I am soon to fly to Perth (in February) to walk across that stage and receive my Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree. Fingers crossed I don’t fall down. It was my biggest fear back in 2015 when I travelled there for my undergrad. And bloody hell! They don’t hand out the awards alphabetically by student name, rather they do it alphabetically by discipline! As you can imagine Professional Writing and Publishing was one of the last to be read out. So, I was sitting there for well over an hour fighting my nerves and desire to pee.

I think I’ll soon make a post about my thesis. Why not? I’m sure you’d love to read about it! 😉

Most people visit wineries when they head over there (particularly to Margaret River), but I will be checking out breweries. Back in 2015, I visited Cowaramup Brewing Co. and Duckstein Brewery, both amazing places, but the only problem was I couldn’t bring much of their beer back with me to Sydney! It was trouble enough just trying to get one growler onto the plane. Anyway, more about my travels later. I know there is great demand to hear about it, so try and remain patient.

What else?
Right now, I’m enjoying the ‘I don’t know’ period. All I’m thinking about is having a relaxing holiday, and getting Eleanor done. I am also looking to get back into proofing/sub-editorial work.

Back to NYE, etc…
How did you celebrate the New Year? Did you give a giant middle finger to 2016, whilst rocking back and forth, and hugging your favourite teddy bear midst sobs?

As I write this, it’s not quite New Year’s Eve yet, so apologies for the change in tense…

I will be going to an amazing absinthe bar in the city tonight, and for New Year’s Eve/Day, I have plans to stay up all night playing Playstation games, some of which include: The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, Trials Fusion, and I think Dynasty Warriors will have to make an appearance, as it is tradition to play it on NYE. I would love to get back into Valkyria Chronicles also. It was recently released on PS4, thank the Playstation gods! Battlefield 1 might also join the fun too, because nothing says NYE like landing a plane on a Zeppelin!

I think I’m getting a little distracted. Please mind the drool as I salivate over gaming.

You know, I should probably end it here. I need to pack for tonight as I’m staying in the city, and I am again getting distracted, this time by Gopher on YouTube doing a complete playthrough of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt. I am obsessed, I know! He can be annoying, but he has an awesome, yet unidentifiable accent that I love!

So, do you have any awesome NYE/NYD pics? Did you watch the fireworks? Drop a line below and let me know how your ‘Fuck you!’ to 2016 went 😛

Until next time…

Cadence xxoo

Update: It is now officially 2017! I thought I’d just post a few pics from my adventures to the Absinthesalon.

Leave a Reply

