What you’ve missed – Day 14 of NaNoWriMo

Eutemia  I  Regular

Word count: 26,855

Things have slowed down this week, but I am happy to say that I am still meeting the NaNoWriMo daily goals. And… I have hit the halfway mark!

nano-word-count2

The journey so far with Eleanor.
As predicted, I have not been sticking to my original plan of working on each Part within a designated period. That’s still part of a plan though, right? I mean, I knew I wouldn’t stick to a plan, therefore I have inadvertently stuck to a plan of not sticking to a plan. Ah huh!
How about I just break it down, so you know how I’ve been working?
Part One: roughly 10,000 words. It still needs some work, particularly on the opening paragraph. I know what I want to write, it’s just a matter of getting my fingers to type what my brain wants… or, being as articulate as I want to be. In other words, I’ll never get it the way I want it, because I am a perfectionist.
Part Two: between 5,000 and 6,000 words. This is the Part I have been neglecting the most. I think because it is one of the more riskier chapters. I suppose that is something you will understand more upon reading it!
Part Three: between 10,000 and 11,000 words. This Part is my pride and joy, etc. Although I am nowhere near my goal yet (I am hoping to reach roughly 20,000 words), this is the Part where everything happens. This is the Part where you will say, “Cadence, why are you doing this to me? Do you hate me? Why can’t your characters be happy?”
“Mwahahahaaa!” is what I will say in return, should I actually hear you speak those words.
Part Four: zip! Nothing yet. Apparently, I am sticking to my initial goal with this one! I will attempt to start something on this Part during the week, but I would like to get more definitive answers to some of the questions throughout the story before attempting this Part. I am certainly not going for a Scooby-Doo ending, with the revelation in your face. That’s not to say it is a murder mystery though.
Maybe I shouldn’t have mentioned Scooby-Doo?

Okay, but where is the story at now?
It’s getting to the tricky part now, where I obviously don’t want to reveal too much, but I will try. I mentioned how my characters are unhappy at the moment. That is true. Eleanor and Vivienne have faced some misfortune, though I cannot specify what kind and in what way. Let’s just focus on Part Two for now…
Eleanor has been spiralling into a depression, but Henry has found a way to get her back into the anatomy classes.
As you know, Vivienne has received some happy news (see, I’m capable of writing happy things!)
Henry has, in his own way, declared his love for Eleanor.
Unfortunately, as I have neglected Part Two in favour of writing Part Three, I do not have much to reveal. Sorry about that!

But I will have a lot more to reveal next week, regarding Part Three. And should I write more on Part Two, I will make sure to fill you in with the details.


For now…

The Turtles – Elenore

Just another song I’ve had playing over and over in my head whilst trying to write. Again, love this song, so there’s no problem there.

Though… that one line always gets me, “You’re my pride and joy et cetera” XD

Know any other songs with ‘Eleanor’ in the lyrics? Post them below.

This week on my playlist (well, just some of the songs I’ve been listening to):

Babymetal – KARATE
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Once More, With Feeling soundtrack
Foo Fighters – See You
Edenbridge – Fallen From Grace
Tarja Turunen – I Walk Alone
White Town – Your Woman

What you missed on social media (including all the boring bits):

Food!

nano-food2

Cute!

Gaming!

Coffee overdose

nano-coffee-overdose

And… election depression

But let’s remember the good times…

 

That’s it for this week, I guess! Join me again on the 21st of November for another update 🙂

Want to learn more about my NaNoWriMo project? Check out my Eleanor page.

Leave a Reply

