And love was stolen

And love was stolen
by a fool, by a coward
Stole her from me
But willing, she left

Tainted, and the shadow fell
A cloak, and took all forgiveness
stole her dreams
stole her happiness

But forbade her, I
never to be with him
and to humiliate
To be mine, until

The day
All donned in white
A mockery, a sin
To make them see

And in that hour
I buried within my heart
the dagger of her betrayal
to let them all see

And yet they could not
The horror
The heart
and no sorrow

Banished, disowned
and I became
a victim of my own desire
for vengeance

To the drink, to the faery
as dread stole me,
and slowly, the seed of wrath
grew and bloomed

And taken, I found the being
Loath to leave myself behind
but a creature foul, I became
and took his life, her love

Took his life
to bring her misery
one last time, for my heart
never healed and peace never found

© 2016

Leave a Reply

