NaNoWriMo – what’s it all about?

National Novel Writing Month is coming up very soon. Every year for the past few years I have planned to enter, write, and complete a novel within one month (November). I made it so far as signing up one year 😉 This year is different though. Not only have I signed up, but I have also got the plot, story, and basic structure set out for my novel, Eleanor.

What is National Novel Writing Month?
NaNoWriMo is all about writing. Specifically, writing 50,000 words in 30 days. Really, it should be called International Novel Writing Month, as all people from all nations are welcome to sign up and give it a go.

That seems like a lot of work. What’s the prize?
That’s the brilliant part. If you manage to push through and make it to 50,000 words before the deadline, and you validate your entry… you win!

What?
You win. There’s no one winner. All you have to do is write a novel, hit the target, and you join the NaNoWriMo winner’s circle. There are other prizes to be won as well though. Have a look-see here.

You make it sound so easy. 50,000 words in one month is no easy feat!
Yeah, I know. Look, to be honest I may not even hit the target. I’d love to, and I’m certainly going to try. I want to win, but I’m a realist (on some days), and I know that this year may not be my year. But, it’s been proven that it can be done. If other people can do it, then so can I.

And, I just want to encourage others to give it a go. Is that so bad?

Okay, sorry. Didn’t realise that. Just thought you were being all Miss I’m-so-awesome-it’s-totally-easy.
Yeah, I guess I do have an ego problem. I’ll try and work on that, thanks!

More information on NaNoWriMo (including how to enter) can be found here.

Leave a Reply

