Absinthe

Published in the 2014 Blue Fringe Arts Short Story and Poetry Anthology.blue-fringe-arts3-001

Absinthe

I loathed the spell of the lullaby.
Iridescent in destruction,
Inside a sombrous reverie of my mind.
Of forgotten, despondent hearts
And magnificent splendour.

Fallow womb
Unkempt
Unripe
The rue unknown

Into the copse, a whisper
And the moonlight waned
In alabaster plague
Stained in wormwood

Of rosy hues;
Rotten mourning
In my madwoman’s cheek.
Inside my glass coffin
I sleep.

© 2014

Want to read more of my Blue Fringe Arts works?
Click here

Leave a Reply

